Code of Practice

As of September 2014 the new Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) Code of Practice came into operation.

In Kirklees there is going to be a three year gradual transition for its implementation. It will begin with Year 11 students and will then work down the year groups.

The categories of SEN will change as follows;

School Action/School Action Plus will become Quality First Teaching and/or SEN Support. At Holmfirth High School, IEPs and the Learning Support Register will gradually be updated to reflect these changes.

Statements will become Education, Health and Care Plans (EHC). The EHC Plans will be in place up to the age of 25, covering education, training and employment. The focus of these Plans will be on student outcomes rather than the number of support hours students are entitled to.

Whilst teachers have always been accountable for the progress of those they teach, the emphasis on Quality First Teaching to meet a range of special educational needs has heightened. (See Chapter 6.79 of the draft Code of Practice.)

There are now 4 categories of need;

  • Cognition and learning
  • Communication and interaction
  • Sensory and physical
  • Social, emotional and mental health

As is currently the case, student needs will be regularly reviewed