Holmfirth High School Governing Body

In accordance with Statute, the Governing Body of Holmfirth High School reconstituted under the School Governance (Constitution) Regulations 2012 with effect from 1 January 2019.  The Governing Body’s Instrument of Government sets out a total membership of 12 Governors consisting of the following categories:-

(a)          1 Headteacher

(b)          1 LA Governor

(c)          1 Staff Governor

(d)          2 Parent Governors

(e)          7 Co-opted Governors 

When the new Instrument of Government came into effect on 1 January 2019, Governors remaining within their current category (including Parent, and Local Authority Governors) continued to serve out their current term of office. Governors who were newly appointed, or reappointed to a different category at the time of reconstitution, (including Co-opted Governors, and staff), started a new term of office. Thereafter, newly appointed Governors serve a 4 year term of office.

The three core functions of the Governing Body are:-

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2.  Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the
school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff, and;

3.  Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money
is well spent”.

Our Governors

Graham Atter

Co-opted Governor

Michael Bell

Co-opted Governor

Emma Easton

Parent Governor

Dianne Frost

Chair of Governors – Co-opted Governor

Rob Jessop

Parent Governor

Gary Mitchell

Staff Governor

Veronica Mullins

Co-opted Governor

Anthony Short

Co-opted Governor

Ben Stitchman


Stuart Taberner

Stuart Taberner

Co-opted Governor

Andrew Waldron

Co-opted Governor

Sally Watts

Local Authority Governor

Previous School Governors

Dughall McCormick

Date of resignation: 28.03.2022

Janet Blissett

Date of resignation: 27.10.20

Lucy Oldroyd

Date of resignation: 15.09.21

Governing Body Meeting Attendance

Governing Body Committees